Disclosure lapses lay behind 3 of 8 regulator penalties; CDSL's Rs 1 crore was the largest
Disclosure lapses lay behind 3 of 8 regulator penalties on firms in two months, while SEBI's Rs 1 crore fine on CDSL was the largest of Rs 1.61 crore stated.
Key points
- Disclosure lapses lay behind 3 of the 8 regulator penalties on firms (38%), more than any other area of the rules.
- SEBI's Rs 1 crore penalty on CDSL was the largest of the 7 stated amounts, which totalled Rs 1.61 crore with a median of Rs 10 lakh.
- SEBI imposed 7 of the 8 penalties and the RBI 1, in stories published between 7 September 2026 and 6 November 2026.

Photo: Chris Woodrich / Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0 (cropped). Representational image.
Disclosure lapses lay behind 3 of the 8 regulator penalties on firms that Oquilia reported between 7 September 2026 and 6 November 2026, more than any other area of the rules. The money was concentrated in one order: SEBI's Rs 1 crore penalty on the depository CDSL was the largest, out of Rs 1.61 crore across the 7 penalties whose amount the stories state. The median penalty was Rs 10 lakh.
What we found
SEBI imposed 7 of the 8 penalties counted (88%). The Reserve Bank of India imposed the other 1, on the NBFC Hero Fincorp. No IRDAI or FIU-IND penalty on a firm appeared among the stories in the window.
Disclosure was the most common area. 3 of the 8 orders (38%) turned on what a company or its banker told investors, and all 3 were SEBI orders tied to listed shares or public offers. Together those 3 penalties came to Rs 20 lakh.
- In the Taurian MPS matter, SEBI found that a promoter group company and its liquidation were not disclosed in the IPO offer document. It fined the company Rs 5 lakh. The same order fined the merchant banker Gretex Corporate Services Rs 8 lakh and two directors Rs 5 lakh jointly; the table counts the company's Rs 5 lakh, because the story is about the company's offer document.
- In the Swaraj Shares & Securities matter, SEBI found that the merchant banker failed to disclose a BSE restraint on an open offer target and did not independently verify disclosures in two SME IPO prospectuses. The penalty was Rs 10 lakh, by an order dated 28 October 2026.
- In the Integra Switchgear matter, SEBI fined the company Rs 5 lakh under the listing rules over shareholding patterns and promoter reclassifications. It also fined 16 promoter-group members Rs 8 lakh jointly and severally under the takeover rules. Those members are individuals, so the table counts only the company's penalty.
2 of the 8 orders (25%) fall under "Other", and they hold most of the money: Rs 1.3 crore between them.
- SEBI's adjudicating officer fined CDSL Rs 1 crore by an order dated 30 October 2026. SEBI found lapses in its FY 2023-24 inspection, including unexplained pledge rejections, unpatched vulnerabilities and an incomplete disaster-recovery drill.
- SEBI imposed a Rs 30 lakh penalty on three foreign portfolio investors after finding that their clubbed holdings breached the 10% limit in Lerthai Finance and that ownership disclosures were incorrect.
The remaining 3 orders each fall in a different area.
- Governance: SEBI fined the merchant banker Swastika Investmart Rs 10 lakh by an order dated 4 November 2026. According to the order, the company had no compliance officer for 20 days in May 2023 and lacked insider-trading safeguards during the inspection period.
- Trading: SEBI fined the stock broker Rashi Equisearch Rs 1 lakh under section 15HB, by an order dated 7 October 2026, for failing to keep pre-order confirmation evidence and IP-address logs. It was the smallest penalty counted.
- Lending: the Reserve Bank of India penalised Hero Fincorp for non-compliance with its Fair Practices Code directions, finding that the NBFC collected excess interest from certain loan accounts.
The amounts are spread unevenly. Of the 7 stated penalties, the total was Rs 1.61 crore, the median Rs 10 lakh, the smallest Rs 1 lakh and the largest Rs 1 crore. The three largest were CDSL at Rs 1 crore, the three foreign portfolio investors at Rs 30 lakh and Swastika Investmart at Rs 10 lakh. Merchant bankers recur: Swastika Investmart and Swaraj Shares & Securities were each fined as merchant bankers, and the Taurian MPS order also fined one. No firm appears twice in the table.
Where the SEBI stories give the terms, the penalty is payable within 45 days and the order can be appealed before the Securities Appellate Tribunal.
| Reported | Entity | Regulator | Penalty | Rules, per the order | Story |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4 Nov 2026 | Swastika Investmart | SEBI | Rs 10 lakh | Governance | Story |
| 30 Oct 2026 | Integra Switchgear | SEBI | Rs 5 lakh | Disclosure | Story |
| 30 Oct 2026 | CDSL | SEBI | Rs 1 crore | Other | Story |
| 29 Oct 2026 | Swaraj Shares & Securities | SEBI | Rs 10 lakh | Disclosure | Story |
| 27 Oct 2026 | Taurian MPS | SEBI | Rs 5 lakh | Disclosure | Story |
| 7 Oct 2026 | Rashi Equisearch | SEBI | Rs 1 lakh | Trading | Story |
| 2 Oct 2026 | Three foreign portfolio investors | SEBI | Rs 30 lakh | Other | Story |
| 24 Sep 2026 | Hero Fincorp | RBI | Not stated | Lending | Story |
What it means for you
The orders counted here concern firms that handle investors' money or information: depositories, merchant bankers who prepare offer documents, brokers and a lender. A reader who deals with such a firm and has a complaint about it has an official route for each regulator.
- A complaint against a bank or NBFC regulated by the Reserve Bank of India, such as one about interest charged on a loan, goes to the RBI Complaint Management System, which takes complaints against regulated entities online.
- A complaint against a SEBI-registered intermediary, such as a broker, depository participant or merchant banker, goes to SEBI SCORES, SEBI's online complaint system, which forwards the complaint to the entity and tracks the reply.
- A complaint against an insurer goes to IRDAI's Bima Bharosa portal, which records and tracks grievances against insurers.
SEBI and the RBI publish their penalty orders on their own websites, and each counted story links to the order behind it.
How we counted
Oquilia counted 8 stories it published between 7 September 2026 and 6 November 2026 on monetary penalties that RBI, SEBI, IRDAI or FIU-IND imposed on a regulated entity. The archive was searched for "penalt" in enforcement and markets stories, and for "monetary penalty", "IRDAI" and "FIU" across all categories. A shorter first search found too few cases, so the window was widened.
A story was counted only when it reported one penalty order and linked to the official document behind it. Several groups of stories were left out. Recovery actions, such as notices of demand, attachments of accounts and completed recovery certificates, were left out because they enforce an older penalty rather than impose a new one. Penalties on individuals, including research analysts and directors, were left out, as were the parts of mixed orders that fell on individuals. A trading academy ordered to refund money over unregistered advice was left out because its story does not say how the penalties were split between the academy and other parties. A penalty by the Central Consumer Protection Authority was left out because it is not one of the four regulators. Explainers on circulars and regulations were left out because they report no case.
The "Rules, per the order" column gives the area of the rules each order says was broken. Disclosure means what was told, or not told, to investors and the market. Governance means internal controls such as a compliance officer. Trading means rules on placing and recording orders. Lending means rules on how a lender deals with borrowers. Other covers orders whose main finding fits none of these, such as a depository's operations and an investment limit. Where an order covers several areas, the column takes the one the story leads with.
The Hero Fincorp story states its penalty as "Rupees 10 lakh" rather than in the form the table reads, so its row shows "Not stated" and it is outside the total and the median. Percentages are rounded to the nearest whole number.
Limits
As with every count of this kind, this counts only orders Oquilia reported, not every order passed. Cases are counted by the date Oquilia published the story, not the date of the order. Outcomes can change on appeal, and several of these orders remain open to appeal before the Securities Appellate Tribunal. Figures are those the stories state, not amounts paid. With 8 cases, the set is too small to rank any regulator, firm or area of the rules. Oquilia has not reviewed the merits of any case.
This report describes enforcement actions and allegations on the public record, attributed to the officials cited. An order, FIR or chargesheet is not a conviction; parties are presumed innocent until proven guilty.
Named in this report, or spotted an error? Corrections and responses: editor@oquilia.com. We correct errors promptly and record responses from named parties.
Sources & Citations
- Penalty order: Swastika Investmart (SEBI), 4 Nov 2026 — SEBI
- Penalty order: Integra Switchgear (SEBI), 30 Oct 2026 — SEBI
- Penalty order: CDSL (SEBI), 30 Oct 2026 — SEBI
- Penalty order: Swaraj Shares & Securities (SEBI), 29 Oct 2026 — SEBI
- Penalty order: Taurian MPS (SEBI), 27 Oct 2026 — SEBI
- Penalty order: Rashi Equisearch (SEBI), 7 Oct 2026 — SEBI
- Penalty order: Three foreign portfolio investors (SEBI), 2 Oct 2026 — SEBI
- Penalty order: Hero Fincorp (RBI), 24 Sep 2026 — Reserve Bank of India